BU Dahod Family Alumni Center Completed
BEDFORD, MA (October, 2018) – In September 2017, State Electric began working in partnership with Suffolk Construction on the transformation of the Boston University (BU) Castle into the BU Dahod Family Alumni Center. Built in 1915, the BU Castle was home to numerous BU Presidents and hosted many university events, galas, dinners, and lectures through the years.
The BU Dahod Family Alumni Center officially opened on September 21st for Alumni Weekend and it now provides a centralized location on campus for BU alumni to congregate. The renovated 3-story building features Fuller’s BU Pub, multiple alumni gathering spaces, Alumni Relations offices, faculty dining areas, and meeting spaces.
State Electric’s team led by Project Manager Tom Mierzejewski and Foreman Brendan Hall, was responsible for the complete electrical renovation of the BU Castle which included a new 800A 120/208V three-phase electrical service. This project presented many unique challenges such as integrating the existing wiring circuits with the new and making upgrades to the existing lighting and fire alarm system. To keep the rustic look of the 100+ year old building, certain lighting fixtures were removed and refurbished, then shipped back to the site to be rewired and installed. A new power and wiring system was also installed on the ground floor for the 5,000 SF addition that includes Fuller’s BU Pub, a kitchen, restaurant area, and mechanical space.